Featured Stories

Home | URA Council of Presidents Elects New Leadership

URA Council of Presidents Elects New Leadership

Jul 8, 2021


At its February 11, 2021 Annual Meeting and Policy Forum, the URA Council of Presidents welcomed Dr. Gary S. May, Chancellor of the University of California, Davis, as its 2022 Chair.  An accomplished scholar and engineer, Dr. May leads the most comprehensive campus in the University of California system.  Chancellor May came to UC Davis from the Georgia Institute of Technology, where was most recently the dean of the College of Engineering.  In February 2018, Chancellor May was elected as a member of the National Academy of Engineering for his innovations in educational programs for underrepresented groups in engineering and his contributions to semiconductor manufacturing research. In 2015, President Obama honored him with the Presidential Award for Excellence in STEM Mentoring.  Dr. May earned his master’s and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering and computer science at the University of California, Berkeley

The Council also elected Ángel Cabrera, President, Georgia Institute of Technology, as the 2021 Vice Chair of the URA Council of Presidents.  Dr. Cabrera became the 12th president of the Georgia Institute of Technology in 2019 after serving for seven years as president of George Mason University.  From 2004 to 2012, Dr. Cabrera served as president at Thunderbird School of Global Management, now part of Arizona State University. Between 1998 and 2004, he was dean of the IE Business School in Madrid, Spain.  Earlier, he served as Senior Advisor to the United Nations Global Compact.  He has published extensively in academic journals and is the recipient of numerous awards.  He earned his M.S. and Ph.D. in cognitive psychology from Georgia Tech, and holds a telecommunications engineering degree (B.S. and M.S. in computer and electrical engineering) from Universidad Politécnica de Madrid.