News & Media

Home | Fermilab | URA Supports the Meenakshi Mentoring Award

URA Supports the Meenakshi Mentoring Award

May 16, 2023 | Fermilab

WASHINGTON — The Universities Research Association donates $5,000 to the American Physical Society (APS) Division of Particles and Fields (DPF) Mentoring Award honoring Fermilab physicist and mentor Dr. Meenakshi Narain.

Established in 2015, the Award recognizes DPF members who have made a profound impact as mentors of scientists and students in particle physics. This year’s award is dedicated in the memory of experimental particle physicist Dr. Meenakshi Narain. Dr. Narain joined Fermilab as a postdoc in 1991 working on DZero and later became a Fermilab Wilson Fellow. She also held faculty positions at Boston University and Brown University working on the CMS experiment. Throughout her career, Dr. Narain was committed to supporting the next generation of physicists through dedicated mentorship efforts that affected the lives and careers of hundreds of aspiring young physicists.

To learn more about the work of Meenakshi Narain and her impact on the physics community, visit Fermilab News.

To learn more about the Award, visit Meenakshi Narain Mentoring Award.