News & Media

Home | High Energy Physics | DOE funds URA member universities for high energy physics research

DOE funds URA member universities for high energy physics research

Jul 25, 2022 | Department of Energy, High Energy Physics

July 25, 2022

Washington — Department of Energy awards $78 million in high energy physics research to 44 universities including 31 members of the Universities Research Association (URA).

The announcement was released Wednesday, July 13 by the DOE. The funding will support 58 university-led research projects across the United States, 44 of them by URA member universities. The DOE’s decision came in support of their High Energy Physics (HEP) program to advance the field of particle physics and other related research topics.

Awarded projects include research related to the Long-Baseline Neutrino Facility (LBNF) as part of the Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment (DUNE), the Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) Experiment, the ATLAS Experiment and much more.

URA member institutions who received DOE funding are as follows:

  • Arizona State University
  • Boston University
  • Brown University
  • University of California at Irvine
  • University of California at Los Angeles
  • University of California at Santa Barbara
  • Case Western Reserve University
  • University of Chicago
  • Duke University
  • Columbia University
  • Florida State University
  • Illinois Institute of Technology
  • University of Illinois
  • University of Maryland
  • Michigan State University
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Northern Illinois University
  • Northwestern University
  • University of Notre Dame
  • Ohio State University
  • Rice University
  • University of Rochester
  • Rutgers University
  • Southern Methodist University
  • Stony Brook
  • Syracuse University
  • University of Tennessee
  • University of Texas
  • Texas A&M
  • Tufts University
  • Wayne State University