URA Doctoral Thesis Award

Home | High Energy Physics User Community | URA Doctoral Thesis Award

Nominations for URA Doctoral Thesis Award Now Closed

Awardee to be Announced at Annual Fermilab Users Meeting June 2024


The URA Doctoral Thesis Award is one of the honorary awards conferred annually by the Universities Research Association (URA). The award recognizes the most outstanding doctoral thesis based on research conducted at Fermilab or in collaboration with Fermilab scientists.

The URA Doctoral Thesis Award is presented at the June Fermilab Users Meeting.

The awardee will receive $10,000 from URA and present their work at the Users Meeting.



The URA Doctoral Thesis Award Committee will judge each nominated thesis and select the winner based on clarity of presentation, originality, and physics content. To qualify, the thesis must have
been submitted in fulfillment of the Ph.D. requirements in the 2023 calendar year, be written in English, and it must have been submitted in electronic form to the Fermilab Publications Office in accordance
with Fermilab policy.


Two nomination letters supporting the merits of the thesis being nominated,

  1. Member of the thesis committee of the Ph.D. granting institution.
  2. Fermilab scientist who collaborated in the thesis work.

Nominations must be submitted to the chair of the Award Committee Chair, Chris Stoughton (stoughto@fnal.gov) by Friday, April 5, 2024. All nomination material should be sent in electronic form, .pdf preferably.

Call for Nominations

The call for nominations will be issued on January 22, 2024 by the Award Committee Chair, FNAL Chief Research Officer (CRO), and URA.

Notification Process for Selection

By May 6, 2024, the committee chair will inform URA and the CRO of the selected awardee and will subsequently inform the award recipient.

Doctoral Thesis Award Committee

The URA Doctoral Thesis Award Committee members reflect a sufficiently diverse representation of disciplines and expertise to ensure eligible nominees’ appropriate and fair consideration.  The members and chair of the award committee are appointed by the Fermilab Director/CRO.

Chris Stoughton (astrophysics)ChairFermilab
Phil Adamson (Accelerator Division, Neutrino experiments)MemberFermilab
John CampbellMemberFermilab